Classification and Specifications of Cisco Transceivers

Cisco transceivers can be classified according to different standards.

Depending on transmission rates, the transceivers are classified into 400G, 100G, 40G, 25G,  10G, 1G, and 100M transceivers.

Depending on modes, the transceivers are classified into single-mode and multi-mode transceivers.

Depending on encapsulation types, the transceivers are classified into: QSFP-DD, QSFP, CPAK, GBIC,CFP, CFP2, CXP, SFP28, SFP+, XFP, X2 transceivers.

In this article, Cisco transceivers are mainly classified by transmission rates.

Transmission rate: 100M

Transmission rate: 1G

Transmission rate: 10G

Transmission rate: 25G

Transmission rate: 40G

Transmission rate: 100G

Transmission rate: 400G